River Ratings

What do they mean?

River ratings are useful as general guidelines for the river’s difficulty.

If you have questions about which river is right, please contact our office.

Class I:
Class I river ratings involve slow-moving water. Rapids are not involved. Also, maneuvering is not required. Therefore, this rating is recommended to clients wanting a totally relaxing float.

Class II:
Class II river ratings involve low-flowing water. Some waves and minor rapids appear. Because of this, very little maneuvering is required. Therefore, we recommend class II for small children, senior citizens, and beginners.

Class III:
Unlike class I & II, class III ratings involve swift currents with minor obstacles. Rating contains substantial rapids. Because of this, maneuvering is required. Therefore, this rating is recommended for beginner and intermediate boaters.

Class IV:
Class IV river ratings contain swift currents. Also, it contains numerous obstacles and rapids. Because of this, constant maneuvering is required. Therefore, we recommend this rating for experienced boaters.

Class V:
Class V river ratings contain very strong currents with many obstacles, steep drops, and long rapids. Guides and paddlers are required to scout. Expert maneuvering is required. Therefore, we recommended class V for experienced and healthy boaters.

Class VI:
Class VI river ratings are considered to be “unrunable”. Therefore, we do not recommend it to anyone.

How Safe Is It?
River rafting is considered one of the safer outdoor sports available to the public. Even more, Redwoods and Rivers only employ’s guides certified in first aid, CPR, and trained in swiftwater rescue. Therefore, you are sure to feel safe.

Redwoods and Rivers use only the finest whitewater equipment available. First of all, our rafts are made of durable polyurethane. Second, our rafts consist of multiple air chambers. Because of this, they are virtually unsinkable. And most importantly, our life jackets (PFDs) are specially designed for whitewater use and are approved by the U.S. Coast Guard.